There’s more to ‘Picky Eating’ than what meets the eye

Mothers often complain that though they prepare all kinds of sensible meals composed of healthy, appealing foods, most of these offerings end up splattering the high-chair or carpeting the floor. Getting a child to tolerate and eat “normal” foods and a greater variety can be absolutely overwhelming for both the parents and child, often turning mealtimes into battles. But more important to know is that this symptom is part of a larger behavior called picky eating, which can result in unwanted consequences later on if not addressed at the right time.

A growing problem

Research shows that over 40 Percent of the children in the Middle East are at risk to be picky eaters, that constitutes to around 3 million children. It is estimated that 25% to 35% of all children have a problems associated with eating. Infographics picky eaters

Types of picky eating

Researchers found that picky eaters may display behaviors such as:
  • Eating small meals [2] [1]
  • Eating slowly [2]
  • Lack of interest in food [2] [1]
  • Acceptance of a limited variety of foods [2] [1]
  • Unwillingness to try new foods [2] [1]
  • Limited intake of fruits and vegetables [3] [1]
  • Strong food preferences [2]

When does picky eating start and why?

Picky eating often surfaces around one year—a time when many children can now choose what and how much to eat, giving them some degree of control over their lives. In addition, children are also learning lots of new skills, like talking, walking, running, climbing, and more. During a time of great change, children often seek “sameness” as much as possible, including sticking to the same small group of foods, making them feel safe and secure during a period of rapid change. [1] [2] [3]

REFERENCES

هناك أكثر مما تراه العين في مشكلة الانتقائية في الطعام

ما تشكوا الأمهات من رفض أطفالهم تناول معظم وجبات الطعام المغرية والمتنوعة، والغنية بالمكونات الصحية المغذية، وينتهي بها المطاف مرمية على أرضية المنزل أو في القمامة. إن تحفيز الطفل على تناول الطعام “الطبيعي” المتنوع والمتوازن هو أمر مجهد لكل من الوالدين والطفل، وغالبا ما تتحول موائد تناول الطعام إلى معارك .ولكن الأهم من ذلك، علينا إدارك أن هذا هو جزء من والذي يؤدي فيما بعد، سلوك أكبر يطلق عليه اسم الانتقائية في الطعام، والذي يؤدي فيما بعد إلى عواقب صحية غير محمودة إذا لم يعالج في الوقت المناسب.

تنامي هذه المشكلة في المنطقة

تشير الأبحاث إلى أن أكثر من 40% بالمائة من الأطفال في منطقة بالمائة من الأطفال في منطقة الشرق الأوسط يتهددهم خطر الإصابة بسلوك الانتقائية في الطعام، أي حوالي 3 ملايين طفل، ومن هذه الفئة هناك 15 بالمئة من الأطفال يصابون بحالات حادة من هذا السلوك، في حين تظهر 23% من حالات الإصابة سلوكاً واحداً على الأقل من الأطفال الانتقائيين في طعامهم.  

أنواع سلوك الطفل الانتقائي في طعامه

وجد الباحثون أن الأطفال الانتقائيين في طعامهم يبدون السلوكيات التالية:
  • [1] [2] تناول وجبات طعام صغيرة
  • [2] تناول الطعام ببطء
  • [2] لا توجد شهية للأكل
  • [1] [2] تقبّل أنواع محدودة من الطعام
  • [2] [1] عدم الرغبة في تناول الأطعمة الجديدة
  • [2] [1] قلة تناول الفواكه والخضروات
  • [3] [1] تفضيل نوع واحد من الطعام

متى يصبح الطفل “انتقائي في طعامه” ولماذا؟

عادة ما يبدأ تشكل سلوك الطفل الانتقائي في طعامه عند بلوغه السنة الأولى من العمر، وهي الفترة التي يستطيع فيها معظم الأطفال اختيار وهو ما يمنحهم ، نوع وكمية الطعام المفضلة لديهم، وهو ما يمنحهم قدراً محدوداً من التحكم بنمط حياتهم .وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يبدأ الأطفال خلال هذه الفترة أيضا بتعلم الكثير من المهارات الجديدة كالتحدث والمشي والجري والتسلق والعديد غيرها .أما خلال فترة التغيير والنمو، عادة ما يسعى الأطفال لتطبيق مفهوم التكرار أو “الرتابة” في سلوكهم قدر الإمكان، بما في ذلك إصاررهم على تناول نفس الأنواع المحددة من الأطعمة، ما يجعلهم يشعرون بالأمن والأمان خلال فترة التغير والنمو السريعة. [1] [3] [4]

مراجع

  • 1 Black MM, Hurley KM. Helping children develop healthy eating habits. Rev. ed. In: Tremblay RE, Peters RDeV, Biovin M, Barr RG, eds. Encyclopedia on Early Childhood Development. Montreal, Quebec: Centre of Excellence for Early Childhood Development; 2007.
  • 2 Infant and Toddler Forum. Combining food for a balanced diet. Toddler Factsheet 1.2. 2006: http://www.infantandtoddlerforum.org/page_Factsheets_id-17.html. Accessed October 2010.
  • 3 Kleinman RE, ed. Pediatric Nutrition Handbook. 6th ed. Elk Grove Village, IL; American Academy of Pediatrics; 2009.
  • 5 Dubois L, Farmer AP, Girard M, Peterson K. Preschool children’s eating behaviours are related to dietary adequacy and body weight. Eur J Clin Nutr. 2007;61(7):846-855.